Filing for divorce is one of the biggest decisions you will make and rushing into it is not a good idea. However, it is likely something you do not want to wait around for to happen. Michigan divorce law has various steps, though, and each one of those steps requires careful attention to the many intricacies of the law. Take a closer look at what you can expect.
Filing your complaint is the first step. You must have lived in the state for 180 days prior to filing. Once your complaint is in place, decisions about children and assets need to be considered. If both parties have different views on these topics, the process is slowed significantly to ensure everyone is in communication and agreement or to allow a judge to make a ruling on such matters.
After the complaint is filed and then served to the other spouse, that person has 21 days to Answer the complaint to the court. If there is a need for minor children to be placed, in some areas you will need to have them appear at the Friend of the Court, which happens 56 days after the filing of the complaint. Once all documentation is submitted and all decisions are made, there remains a period of waiting.
In Michigan divorce law, a married couple filing for divorce without minor children will need to wait at least 60 days from the date of complaint before a judgment is entered. If there are minor children involved, this process takes 180 days from the date of the filing. There are still reasons for delay including changes in decisions made by judges.
Every situation is also very different. It is best to come in to discuss your unique situation with an area attorney to learn what you can expect. In some cases, it only takes a matter of months but other scenarios can lead to years of confrontation.